Skip to main content

Department of Transfusion Medicine

Symposium Schedule

Thirty-Ninth Annual Symposium

Session 1: Moderator Walter E. Kelley, DO
8:25 - 8:30 Opening Remarks
8:30 - 9:05 Convalescent Plasma Treatment of COVID19 Arturo Casadevall, MD, PhD
9:05 - 9:40 Treat the Patient not the Number Charles Natanson, MD
9:40 - 10:15 Update on CAR T Therapy Nirali N. Shah, MD, MHSc
10:15 - 10:45 Break
Session 2: Moderator DTM Chief
10:45 - 11:30 Richard J. Davey, MD Award
Recipient: Nancy Heddle MSc., FCSMLS(D)

Clinical Research Before, During, and After COVID19
11:30 - 12:05 Resources in Developing Countries Celina Montemayor, MD PhD
12:05 - 1:00 Break
Session 3: Moderator Yvette Marie Miller, MD
1:00 - 2:30 Clinical Vignettes (20 minutes each) followed by panel discussion
Topic Presenter Subject Matter Expert
Donor Specific Antibodies Sajjad Hassan, MD William Ward, PhD
IgA Deficiency Associated Allergic/Anaphylactic Transfusion Reaction Martin S Ongkeko, MD Anne Eder, MD, PhD
DAT Rim Abdallah, MD Willy A. Flegel, MD
2:30 - 3:00 Break
Session 4: Moderator David Mair, MD
3:00 - 3:35 Freeze-dried platelets G. Michael Fitzpatrick, PhD
3:35 - 4:05 Situation Critical!: The Impact of the COVID19 Pandemic on Blood Product Demand and Distributions P. Dayand Borge, Jr. MD, PhD
4:05 Adjourn

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 07/06/2020

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at