Department of Transfusion Medicine and Center for Cellular Engineering


Blood Services Section

Laboratory Services Section

  • Chief: Willy Flegel, MD

  • Transfusion Services Supervisor: Traci D. Paige, MT(ASCP)SBB

  • HLA Laboratory Director: William W. Ward, PhD, F(ACHI)

  • HLA Laboratory Supervisor: Nuri Cha, MS, CHS(ABHI)

Infectious Diseases Section

  • Chief: Valeria De Giorgi, MSc, PhD
  • Distinguished NIH Investigator: Harvey Alter, MD

  • Transfusion Transmitted Viruses Lab Supervisor: Joni Trenbeath, MT(ASCP)

Center for Cellular Engineering

  • Director: David Stroncek, MD

  • Deputy Director: Robert Somerville, PhD

  • Medical Director: 

  • Research and Product Development Supervisor: Steven L. Highfill, PhD

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 01/12/2023

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at