Skip to main content

NIH Clinical Center Senior Staff

Office of the Chief Executive Officer

Chief Executive Officer
James K. Gilman, MD

Deputy Director for Clinical Care
David Henderson, MD

Chief Nurse Officer
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Executive Officer
Colleen A. McGowan, MHA, FACHE

Chief Financial Officer
Maria D. Joyce, MBA, CPA

Departments & Offices

Administrative Management
Eric L. Cole, MS, FACHE

Animal Program
Lisa G. Portnoy, DVM

Chief & Head, Section on Human Subjects Research
Christine Grady, PhD, MSN

Head, Section on Ethics & Health Policy
Marion Danis, MD

Head, Unit on Vulnerable Populations
David S. Wendler, PhD, MA

Biomedical Translational Research Informatics
Jose Galvez, MD

Biostatistics and Clinical Epidemiology Service
Paul Wakim, PhD

Clinical Research Informatics
Jon McKeeby, DSc

Clinical Research Training & Medical Education
Director, Acting
Robert Lembo, MD, FAAP

Communications & Media Relations
Justin Cohen, MS, MA

Credentialing Services
Joseph Hendery, RHIA

Critical Care Medicine
Henry Masur, MD

Associate Chief & Medical Director, Therapy & Respiratory Care Section
Director, ICU Stat Laboratory
Anthony F. Suffredini, MD

Chief, Emerging Pathogens Section
Daniel S. Chertow, MD, MPH

Head, Functional Genomics Facility
Robert L. Danner, MD

Head, Critical Care Section
Peter Q. Eichacker, MD

Assistant Clinical Investigator
Jason M. Elinoff, MD

Head, Clinical Epidemiology Section
Sameer S. Kadri, MD, MS

Head, AIDS Section
Joseph Kovacs, MD

Head, Nuclear Cardiology Section
Dorothea McAreavey, MD

Program Director, Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Training Program
Head, Nuclear Cardiology Section
Charles Natanson, MD

Medical Director, Procedures, Vascular Access & Conscious Sedation Section
Naomi P. O'Grady, MD

Director of Training
Nitin Seam, MD

Head, Cardiology Section
Michael A. Solomon, MD

Assistant Clinical Investigator
Parizad Torabi-Parizi, MD

Special Volunteer
James Shelhamer, MD

Edmond J. Safra Family Lodge
General Manager
Nicole Pascua, MSW, LICSW, BCD, OSW-C

Employee Ethics
Chief and Deputy Ethics Counselor
Patricia M. Reilly

Financial Resource Management
Daniel Rinehuls

Hospital Epidemiology Service
Tara N. Palmore, MD

Internal Medicine Consult Service
Fred Gills, MD, FACP, FIDSA

IRB Operations
Interim Chief
Richard L. Gorman, MD

Laboratory Medicine
Acting Chief
Karen M. Frank, PhD, MD, D(ABMM)

Chief, Clinical Chemistry Service
David B. Sacks, MB ChB

Chief, Hematology Service
Raul Braylan, MD

Chief, Microbiology Service
John P. Dekker, MD, PhD, FCAP

Management Analysis & Reporting
Rachael Schacherer, MPP

Management, Planning & Public Liaison

Materials Management & Environmental Services
Bernard Harper

Medical Records
Patricia Coffey, RHIA

Chief Nurse Officer,
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Deputy Chief Nurse, Research & Practice Development
Gwenyth R. Wallen, PhD, RN

Nursing Service Chief, Medical Surgical Specialties
Ann Marie Matlock, RN, MSN, NE-BC

Nursing Service Chief, Neuroscience, Behavioral Health & Pediatrics
Barbara A. Jordan, DNP, RN, NEA-BC

Nursing Service Chief, Oncology and Critical Care
Deborah Kolakowski, RN, MSN

David Folio, MS, RD

Deputy Executive Officer
Colleen A. McGowan, MHA, FACHE

Pain & Palliative Care
Ann Berger, MD

Patient Relations & Recruitment Services
Denise Ford, MS, RD

Patient Representative
Antoinette Jones, MSOD, RN

Patient Safety & Clinical Quality
Laura Lee, RN, MSc

Patient Support Services
Karen Kaczorowski, RN, MHSA

Pediatric Service
Deborah P. Merke, MD, MS

Perioperative Medicine
Andrew Mannes, MD, ME

Chief, Pediatric Anesthesia and Critical Care
Zena Quezado, MD

Majid R. Tanas, PharmD, MHA, MS

Positron Emission Tomography
Peter Herscovitch, MD

Protocol Services
Kim Mitchell, RHIA

Purchasing & Contracts
Susan Nsangou

Radiology & Imaging Sciences
Acting Director
Elizabeth C. Jones, MD, MPH, MBA

Associate Director for Clinical Services
Elizabeth C. Jones, MD

Chief, Nuclear Medicine
Ronald D. Neumann, MD

Chief, Laboratory of Diagnostic Radiology Research
Director, Imaging Sciences Training Program
Joseph A. Frank, MD, MS

Chief, Clinical Imaging Processing Services
Ronald Summers, MD, PhD

Director, NIH Center for Interventional Oncology
Chief, Interventional Radiology Section
Bradford Wood, MD

Rehabilitation Medicine
Leighton Chan, MD, MPH

Chief, Functional & Applied Biomechanics Section
Diane L. Damiano, PhD, PT

Director, Rehabilitation Medicine Consult Service
Galen Joe, MD

Chief, Occupational Therapy Section
Bonnie C. Hudson OTR/L

Chief, Speech Language Pathology Section
Beth Solomon, MS, CCC-SLP

Chief, Epidemiology & Biostatistics Section
Elizabeth K. Rasch, PhD, PT

Chief, Recreational Therapy Section
Donna Gregory, CTRS, MBA

Chief, Physical Therapy Section
Michaela R. Smith, PT, M Ed

Social Work
Kathleen M. Baxley, MHA, MBA, LIC SW, LCSW

Spiritual Care
John M. Pollack, MDiv., BCC

Transfusion Medicine
Harvey G. Klein, MD

Acting Chief, Blood Services Section
Kamille West, MD

Chief, Cell Processing Station
David. F. Stroncek, MD

Chief, Clinical Studies Associate Director of Research
Harvey Alter, MD

Acting Chief, Infectious Diseases Section
Robert D. Allison, MD, MPH

Chief, Laboratory Services Section
Willy A. Flegel, MD

Workforce Management & Development
Acting Chief
Daniel Lonnerdal, MS, FACHE

NOTE: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

This page last updated on 02/22/2018

You are now leaving the NIH Clinical Center website.

This external link is provided for your convenience to offer additional information. The NIH Clinical Center is not responsible for the availability, content or accuracy of this external site.

The NIH Clinical Center does not endorse, authorize or guarantee the sponsors, information, products or services described or offered at this external site. You will be subject to the destination site’s privacy policy if you follow this link.

More information about the NIH Clinical Center Privacy and Disclaimer policy is available at